|
Cultural
heritage institutions like archives, museums and historical societies
can be great sources of information for family researchers. They
often collect material from the local area or from official and
private documents and photographs that can assist in documenting
family history.
Search the AMOL
National Guide to collecting institutions that includes historical
societies and some archives. Start off with areas where you know
the person you are researching worked or lived. Many historical
societies run information evenings on family research.You can also
browse the AMOL guide for museums and galleries that hold genealogical
material.
You can search hundreds of thousands of museum and gallery objects such
as photographs and historical material in the AMOL Open
Collections database.
You might also consider institutions like the Australian War Memorial
that has an enormous online
database of objects relating to people serving in the armed forces,
the National Archives of Australia's online database of official records
called RecordSearch
and of photographs called PhotoSearch
and the National Library's range of online
collections.
Local libraries can also be great sources of information. The National
Library maintains an online database
of local libraries.
The Australian Society of Archivists maintains a similar online
database of Australian archives.
Other bodies and databases online include:
State
Records and Archives Offices
State Records of New South Wales http://www.records.nsw.gov.au/
State Records of Western Australia http://www.sro.wa.gov.au/
State Archives of Queensland http://www.archives.qld.gov.au/
Public Records Office of Victoria http://www.prov.vic.gov.au/access.htm
State Records of Tasmania http://www.archives.tas.gov.au/genealres/default.htm
Public Records Office of Western Australia http://www.liswa.wa.gov.au/
Archive Service of Northern Territory http://www.nt.gov.au/nta/
Archives of South Australia http://www.archives.sa.gov.au
International Council on Archives http://www.ica.org/
List of genealogical holdings by the National Archives of Australia
http://www.naa.gov.au/Publications/fact_sheets/default.html#genealogy
Directory of Australian Archives http://www.archivists.org.au/directory/asa_dir.htm
Archives of Australia http://www.archivenet.gov.au/archives.html
Colonial Tasmanian Family Links Database http://resources.archives.tas.gov.au/Pioneers/
Libraries
Find a library http://www.nla.gov.au/apps/libraries
National Library of Australia http://www.nla.gov.au/
State Library of Tasmania http://www.statelibrary.tas.gov.au/collections/Famhistory/
Australian Capital Territory Virtual Library http://www.act.gov.au/library/
Births, Marriages and Deaths Offices
Births, Marriages and Deaths Office of South Australia http://www.ocba.sa.gov.au/births.htm
Births, Marriages and Deaths Office of New South Wales http://www.bdm.nsw.gov.au/bdmaus/
Births, Marriages and Deaths Office of Australian Capital Territory
http://www.rgo.act.gov.au/home.htm
Births, Marriages and Deaths Office of Queensland http://www.justice.qld.gov.au/bdm/home.htm
Births, Marriages and Deaths Office of Tasmania http://www.justice.tas.gov.au/bdm/
Department of Justice of Victoria http://www.justice.vic.gov.au/
Births, Marriages and Deaths Office of Northern Territory http://www.ntag.nt.gov.au/justice/ntag/bdm/bdm.htm
Department of Justice of Western Australia http://www.justice.wa.gov.au/portal/server.pt
Genealogical
associations
Society of Australian Genealogists http://www.sag.org.au/
Australasian Association of Genealogists and Record Agents Inc http://www.aagra.asn.au/
Victorian Genealogists Using Microcomputers http://www.vicgum.asn.au/
Western Australian Genealogical Society Inc http://www.wags.org.au/
International
networks and resources
United Kingdom Public Records Office http://www.pro.gov.uk/
The Federation of Family History Societies (United Kingdom) http://www.ffhs.org.uk/
FamilySearch http://www.familysearch.org/
The United Kingdom Society of Genealogists http://www.sog.org.uk/
GeneaNet http://www.geneanet.org/
Cyndi's List http://www.cyndislist.com/
Brother's Keeper software site http://ourworld.compuserve.com/homepages/Brothers_Keeper/
The World GenWeb Project http://www.worldgenweb.org/
Genealogy Helplist http://helplist.org/aus/index.shtml
|